Pickleball – You Make the Call – Answer– Take It for a Spin!

Original Scenario Posted on 20170323

The Scenario:

Team X and Team Y are engaged in a back-and-forth rally when at one point, a player from team Y hits a ball with much backspin over the net onto team X’s side of the court. A player from team X runs toward the ball, which is close to the net, but cannot quite get to it before the ball bounces back over the net onto team Y’s side.

Recap of essential points: – A player from team Y originally hit the ball with backspin and it was not touched by any player on team X before the ball bounced back over the net.

According to the official pickleball rules, what happens in the above scenario? Is there a fault? Is it a do-over? Does any team score a point?

The Answer according to USAPA Rules:

Here is the ruling from the official rule book of the International Federation of Pickleball which is also the governing document for the USAPA (USA Pickleball Association).

“12.J.4. If a player hits the ball over the net into the opponent’s court, and then the ball bounces back over the net without being touched by the opponent, the striking player wins the rally.” p. 39

In the case scenario above, the last player to touch the ball with the paddle wins the point.



To See Pickleball Videos Covering Many Aspects of the Game Click Here (primarily for beginners and less experienced players)

Check out Additional Pickleball Info and Videos! (for all players including average to more experienced players)

Answer: Pickleball – You Make the Call – 20151209

QUESTION: Team A serves the ball and team B returns it short. A player from team A then softly hits the ball into the NVZ and the ball barely clears the net and before it can hit the floor, it hits the center base of the portable net on team B’s side and rolls away without anyone making a play.

Does team A or team B score a point? If not, what happens? Is there a pickleball rule that covers this?

Let us hear form you in the comments section. The answer will be provided in a follow up post!

ANSWER: The ball is considered a let and the point must be replayed. Rule 12.J.5 states: “If the ball goes over the net and then hits the center base or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and must be replayed.” (page 37 – IFP Official Tournament Rulebook, April 24, 2015)