Answer: Pickleball – You Make the Call – 20151209

QUESTION: Team A serves the ball and team B returns it short. A player from team A then softly hits the ball into the NVZ and the ball barely clears the net and before it can hit the floor, it hits the center base of the portable net on team B’s side and rolls away without anyone making a play.

Does team A or team B score a point? If not, what happens? Is there a pickleball rule that covers this?

Let us hear form you in the comments section. The answer will be provided in a follow up post!

ANSWER: The ball is considered a let and the point must be replayed. Rule 12.J.5 states: “If the ball goes over the net and then hits the center base or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and must be replayed.” (page 37 – IFP Official Tournament Rulebook, April 24, 2015)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.